So, GW in it's infinite "Wisdom" has FINALLY issued an FAQ for the Tyranid Codex, one of the most necessarry FAQ's that was needed. Far more than the Codex Daemons FAQ that came out at the Nid 1 month range of time when the Nid FAQ was expected.
You can Get the Tyranid FAQ here and read along if you wish:
So, To start off with we'll look at the Erattas:
Now we include the swarmlord in the Blind Rampage. Easy enough.
A harpie's barrage now affects the whole blast marker, not the center hole to drop the spore mines. Cool, far less likely to drop mines now and for the blast to go off, though it still may hit nothing, except perhaps the harpy itself.
Spore Mine correction that does nothing.
Useage change on the Mawloc, does nothing to people who know the rules.
on to the FAQ's:
Nid Weapons now stack. though observant readers of the codex already knew this as Tyranid cc weapons were NOT special Weapons to begin with. and thus did not go by their rules to begin with.
Nids dont test for Instinctive behavior the turn they come in from reserves. Duh.
Instinctive Behavior affects those that start the turn out of Synapse. Reserves happens in your turn and not before it. Yes you have to test even if you have Zoey's in a Spore. Duh.
Hive Commander does not stack, though it does stack with the Swarmlords ability. Works for me as they've been consistant with the IG dex.
It stacks with the Pheramone Trail.... that will never get used. EVER. seriously, lictors start in reserve. So HC and Swarmy makes the lictor come in on turn 2 on a 2+. then on turn 3 everything comes in automatically. or it does not come in and everything comes in on turn 3 with a 2+. see. never.
Tyrants with Tyrant Guard are NOT independant Characters. Never were. why is this a question? because you can JOIN as an IC? still does not make you an IC. No you can't leave, rules say you can JOIN. that is all.
Yay, tyrant guard act like they should, only going into a frenzy AFTER the tyrant dies. lol.
Harpies and Winged Tyrants can now deep strike. Yay.
Harpies spore drop acts like a multiple barrage, like it says in the codex.
Random Moving spore mines, you don't control them.
Spore Mines Can Not Assault.
Spores go boom when you assault them and then you CAN NOT Consolidate.
Spores Deep Strike AFTER objectives are placed.
Hive Guard can only shoot at stuff they can see while lurking. It's in the codex, and while covering this I should mention that the Biovore works the same way. it MAY be able to fire indirectly, but it can NOT do so while lurking. RAW.
Zoies can use different powers. YAY. why would you want to anyway?
Zoies must make a Psychic test for each zoie using a psychic power. how is this hard?
you must declare how your reserves are coming in when you place them in reserve. the added options of arrival in the nid dex are no different.
You get cover from terror from the deep.... but it's not quite explained how. From below you? so you would get cover from intervening unit... none. terrain? Possibly area terrain. Equipment? I'd give you that.
You can't put a Warrior Prime in a Spore with warriors. LAME.
If you take a spore you HAVE to use it, unlike a drop pod where you dont.... LAME.
Mycetic Spores can be moved, say by terror from the deep, some people say with tank shock, but I don't know how that would work, I can't fall back, I can't move wilingly, but if I DoG you either I die or you are immobilized...... interesting.
Tyranid SC's are just nastier versions of the base creature. so the Doom's Warp Field works. and so does the Swarmlords psychic powers.
Doom is fixed. Finally.
Psychic powers are cleaner.
Shadow of the warp is useless now. Seriously GW? sure I know they are not Space Marines, but at least be consistant with this crap. So a Psychic Hood can cancel out a power used in a transport but the enervating presence of the shadow is blocked completely by it? Screw You Too.
Lash Whips took a major hit. Seems that GW is continuing with the "Screw you if you're not SM" contingency. And eldar just happen to fall into a good benefit.
And my personal Favorite. A powergamers' dream was quashed by GW answering the Rediculous question of "Can You Regenerate Wounds That Have already been regenerated?". No you moron. you get to go back to your maximum number of wounds. That is all.
3 days ago